Oh No, I Don’t Think I Could…

… ever walk on this thing!

On one side a sheer rock face, on the other a 4,000ft drop – and all to separate the brave traveller from a deadly plunge is a  3ft-wide, 2.5in thick walkway. And if that is not enough to bring terror into the pit of your stomach, the path running alongside a Chinese mountainside is made out of glass, allowing a crystal-clear view of what is beneath you.

news.sina.com.cn

news.sina.com.cn

So, if you have the courage and you are not afraid of heights, then you can afford to walk on this very special skywalk in your visit to Tianmen Mountain, the second national forest park in Zhangjiajie region, China.

 © Ding Yunjuan/Xinhua Press/Corbis, Dingyun Juan

© Ding Yunjuan/Xinhua Press/Corbis, Dingyun Juan

While I imagine the views to be out of this world, I just wouldn’t be able to calmly walk across the bridge or enjoy anything I see.

 © Ding Yunjuan/Xinhua Press/Corbis, Dingyun Juan

© Ding Yunjuan/Xinhua Press/Corbis, Dingyun Juan

And in the spring, just breathtaking.

geolocation.ws

geolocation.ws

I guess if it’s foggy then looking down won’t be as horrifying 😉

08

And if you make it to the end, this is where you end up.

03Awesome? yes. Do I want to visit? of course! but I can I walk on it, don’t think so..

33 thoughts on “Oh No, I Don’t Think I Could…

  1. There is a piece of glass that you can walk on in the CN Tower (in Toronto)… took me a good while to get the courage to walk across ~ 5 feet as its very disturbing visually!
    This takes it to a whole new level… sitting behind my computer I’d like to say that I can do this but I know I’d probably $hit my pants if I was really there 🙂

    • LOL ya I couldn’t. A year ago we went up to the sky deck in the sears tower in Chicago. I was able to step in to take a couple of pictures, it worked as long as I didn’t look down 😀

  2. Brilliant architect.Just by looking at it brings the chill to the spin.Beautiful pictures.I hope l and my wife will visit China soon to see the Great wall.We been planning for the trip.Thank yo so much for the visit.Blessings and salam.jalal

Please share your thoughts!

