The Alamo

This is part 2 of my previous post I’m in Love with San Antonio. It includes the pictures I took of the Alamo, mostly outside since photography is not allowed inside. While it is quarter the size of forts and castles in Syria or Egypt, I still loved every part of it because it told a story as well. It witnessed history and therefore is precious.

This is a brief description from the website for those who are unfamiliar with it. It was the sight to one of the battles that shaped the revolution in Texas. “Originally named Mission San Antonio de Valero, the Alamo served as home to missionaries and their Indian converts for nearly seventy years. Construction began on the present site in 1724. In 1793, Spanish officials secularized San Antonio’s five missions and distributed their lands to remaining Indian residents. These men and women continued to farm the fields, once the mission’s but now their own, and participated in the growing community of San Antonio.”

alamoday8

A close up of the door. alamoday

The first thing you see when entering the courtyard of the Alamo. The picture doesn’t do this tree justice, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a tree growing so strong in all directions!

alamoday7

One of the many cannons used at the battle, and are now showcased in the courtyard.

alamoday5

The gorgeous walkway leading out to the street. alamoday3

And a look at one of the arches that form the walkway, very beautiful.

alamoday2

This was part of the door leading to a small museum there.

alamoday4This is the only picture that I couldn’t resist not taking while inside. The type, print, ink, and everything about it is just fascinating. It made me realize that I have the ability of starring at any old text for hours. It’s a family record that includes marriages, births, and deaths in the family.

alamoday6

I actually took this picture with my phone because I didn’t have y camera, turned out better than I expected 🙂

alamonightStay tuned for more pictures.

8 thoughts on “The Alamo

Please share your thoughts!

