Sculptures by Nature

I took those pictures in a recent visit to the Houston Museum of Natural Science. This was inside their Mineral room, which was breathtaking. I could’ve easily spent hours in there, but having the kids with us I had to cut it short. Many of us underestimate nature’s talent, these are just a few examples I was able to catch. I wish I could’ve kept track of all the names and types, but again that would’ve been too much to ask for.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t know if you can tell that this huge, I could’ve easily fit inside it! It was the biggest mineral in the exhibition.

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Sculptures by Nature

  1. I remember in grade school doing a project on crystals and minerals and loved learning about them! You’ve just reminded me of that experience. πŸ™‚
    Thanks, Rasha… beautiful photographs!
    Olga

  2. I’m so behind on reading, but I have scrolled through this so many times! You post the most interesting and thought-provoking images (like the bubbles) that let one’s imagination wonder. I LOVE these and remember in first grade our teacher made crystals with chemicals – I was hooked! I begged my mother to buy me the chemicals to make them, but she didn’t bite – drats! I resorted to taking a hammer to quartz rocks and breaking those open πŸ˜‰ Beautiful post!!

Please share your thoughts!

